1.0 Background Information
1.1 Anambra State
Anambra State was created during the State creation exercise of 1991. It is one of the 5 States in the South East Geo-political Zone and represents a strategic access to the rest of the South-East, and South-South Zone of the Country from the River Niger end. The people are Igbo by tribe and predominantly Christians. The State has a total estimated population of 4million (2004 estimate) and a population density second only to Lagos State. The female population of 50.8% is only slightly above that of the male at 49.2%. 62% of its population is estimated to live in the urban areas, a fast expanding proportion. The State recently designated 10 towns as urban in recognition of this. The result of urbanization is the emergence of urban slums since social facilities and infrastructure – water, roads, electricity, sanitation services – are stretched to their limit. Major towns include: Awka – the State Capital, Nnewi and Onitsha, Ekwuluobia, Ihiala among others.
1.2 Geographical Location
Anambra State lies north of the coastlands and delta region of Eastern Nigeria between latitude 5043’N and 6037’E. It is bounded in the North by Kogi and Benue States, in the south by Imo and Abia States; in the east by Enugu State and in the West by River Nigeria and Delta State.

1.3 Demography
The current population of the State is about 4.5 million. Awka is the state capital. Beside Awka, there are two other metropolitan towns which are the economic power houses of the State. These cities are Onitsha and Nnewi. These are known and recognized all over Nigeria as centers of commercial activities and production. Other communities adjoining Onitsha are Nkpor, Obosi, Oba, Ogidi, and Nnobi .The adjoining cities within the Awka – Onitsha – Nnewi triangle are all growing rapidly to Urban communities and are benefiting from overflows of economic activities along the Onitsha – Nnewi axis. The projected 2015 population of Anambra state is 5,425,149. In 2005, Anambra state population comprises (72.8%) urban, (25.2%) semi urban and (2%) rural. In 2015, the population will become (80.0%) urban, (18.6%) semi urban and (1.4%) rural.